Marken, A World Away in 40 Minutes

AMsterdam-Marken (2)I am a city girl, make no mistake. But sometimes, just sometimes, it is nice to visit a little village and see countryside….and just a 40 minute bus ride outside of Amsterdam is an afternoon’s perfect  mini getaway…

View from the bus station…

AMsterdam-Marken (1)…and off we go…

AMsterdam-Marken (3)…15 minutes later we are in the polders….

AMsterdam-Marken (4).…a bit of frost on the ground…

AMsterdam-Marken (5)…view from the bus…almost there….note water on each side of the road…

AMsterdam-Marken (6)…and we arrive….over this little bridge is Marken…

AMsterdam-Marken (7)…first stop, a wooden shoe makers…

AMsterdam-Marken (8)…with some interesting artifacts…

AMsterdam-Marken (9)…doesn’t everyone need wooden shoes for their cow?

AMsterdam-Marken (10)AMsterdam-Marken (11) AMsterdam-Marken (12)…friendly inhabitants, (but you can hardly blame them as I am sure there are hoards of tourists in the summer who forget that these are private homes)…

AMsterdam-Marken (13)….cute goats….

AMsterdam-Marken (14)…and through little wending walkways is the pretty harbour…

AMsterdam-Marken (15) AMsterdam-Marken (16) AMsterdam-Marken (17)…surrounded by pretty green houses, some with painted storm doors…

AMsterdam-Marken (19)….a little walk out on the sea wall…

AMsterdam-Marken (18)…then, thoroughly chilled, a warm up in a harbour side cafe. Loved the presentation of this!

AMsterdam-Marken (20).. …my view while sipping hot chocolate and knitting…

AMsterdam-Marken (21)…back on the bus….

AMsterdam-Marken (22)…and into town….

AMsterdam-Marken (23)…in time to meet a friend in one of my favorite cafes….

AMsterdam-Marken (26)…and watch the world go by for a bit….

AMsterdam-Marken (24) AMsterdam-Marken (25)…before strolling home in the snow…

AMsterdam-Marken (27)I hope you enjoyed my walk today….please join us at Jo’s Monday Walk for more fun!

14 thoughts on “Marken, A World Away in 40 Minutes

  1. That was a lovely jaunt, Minou 🙂 Did my shares bring you any new visitors? I hope so!
    Love the clog tree and the well-heeled cow 🙂 Reminds me of my one and only visit to Holland (just a hop over the border when we were staying in Belgium) and naturally it was to a clog makers 🙂 Many thanks for sharing!

    • Yes, thanks Jo, I am getting more lots more visits. You should visit Holland again! (We could have a walk together and I’ll buy the hot chocolate!)
      Minou

  2. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Farms of Cacela | restlessjo

  3. Hello Minou, I found you from restless Jo. I’ve never been to Holland but your photos on your walk made me feel as if I was there, with you. Thank-you for showing me around!

  4. Another lovely day out with you and I am more than happy to join you in the café for a glass of that hot chocolat – and cream – and marshmallows! Yummy!
    Jude xx

Leave a Reply

